ASM2016_tess_cramondThe Professor Tess Cramond Named Lecture is offered to an Australian researcher in the early part of their career. The Lecture is a relatively recent initiative of the Australian Pain Society, having first been presented at the 2007 Scientific Meeting.
Tess Cramond AO OBE commenced work as an anaesthetist in the early 1950s. In the fifty years that followed she was committed to and gained international recognition for the improvement of anaesthesia, resuscitation and pain medicine. She had a specific interest in the relief of cancer pain and supported the development of palliative care services.

She established the Multidisciplinary Pain Clinic (now the Professor Tess Cramond Multidisciplinary Pain Centre) at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Queensland in 1967.

Professor Cramond held many significant positions, including Dean of the Faculty of Anaesthetists and President of the Queensland branch of the Australian Medical Association (AMAQ). She received many accolades, including the Gilbert Brown Prize, an OBE and an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), an Advance Australia Award, a Red Cross Long Service Award and the AMA Women in Medicine Award.

Sadly, Professor Cramond passed away in late 2015. A tribute to her amazing life and achievements can be found on our blog.

2017 Tess Cramond Lecture:

schabrun-siobhanDr Schabrun will be presenting the Tess Cramond Lecture, discussing Non-invasive brain stimulation for the treatment of pain: Therapeutic potential, limitations and controversies.

Dr Siobhan Schabrun received her Physiotherapy degree from the Universtiy of South Australia and holds a PhD in Neuroscience from The University of Adelaide. She is a current NHMRC Career Development Fellow at Western Sydney University and a former Fulbright Scholar. Her research seeks to understand why some people develop persistent muscuskeletal pain after injury while others do not, and to develop and test novel brain based treatments that can improve outcomes for people living with pain.

We are delighted to have Dr Siobhan Schabrun involved in APS 2017 and present the Tess Cramond Lecture. We hope you will be able to attend and enjoy everything this conference has to offer.

Register for the 2017 Australian Pain Society 37th Annual Scientific Meeting.


About Australian Pain Society

The Australian Pain Society is a multidisciplinary body aiming to relieve pain and related suffering through leadership in clinical practice, education, research and public advocacy.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s