2018 Patrick Wall Lecture:


Patrick_WallThe Patrick Wall lecture is a New Zealand Pain Society (NZPS) Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) lecture that is a state of the science focused lecture named in honour of Patrick Wall. Patrick Wall was a mentor and friend to some of the early members of NZPS and his family gave consent for an annual lecture to be named for him.

Professor Stephen McMahon

mcmahon_webProfessor Stephen McMahon will be presenting the Patrick Wall Lecture, discussing Mechanisms of pain vulnerability: Why me?

Professor Stephen McMahon is Sherrington Professor of Physiology at King’s College London. He is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. His major research interest is pain mechanisms. He has a long-standing interest in identifying pain mediators and studying their neurobiological actions. He has worked extensively on the role of NGF (neutralising antibodies now in multiple phase III trials), ATP acting at P2X3 receptors (receptor antagonists now in multiple phase II and III trials). His current research is focused on neuro-immune interactions, particularly the neurobiology of chemokines, and the genetics and epigenetics of pain.

Professor McMahon currently directs the Wellcome Trust Pain Consortium, and prior to this, the London Pain Consortium, a collection of leading pain researchers working to better understand chronic pain mechanisms and improve treatments.


2018 Sunderland Lecture:


ASM2016_Sunderland_high resThe Sir Sydney Sunderland Named Lecture is offered to an international guest speaker.

The Sunderland Lecture was instituted at the 1987 meeting of the Australian Pain Society in recognition of Sir Sydney Sunderland’s contribution to the understanding of neuropathic pain. Sir Sydney Sunderland was an Australian neuro-anatomist who spent much of his career at the University of Melbourne. His major contribution to the research field was the description of recovery following peripheral nerve injury. There is a brief synopsis of Sir Sydney’s life and achievements on the Australian Academy of Science website: http://www.asap.unimelb.edu.au/bsparcs/aasmemoirs/sunderland.htm

Professor Liesbet Goubert

SONY DSCProfessor Liesbet Goubert will be presenting the Sunderland Lecture, discussing A resilience approach to chronic pain: Different theoretical perspectives and treatment implications.

Professor Liesbet Goubert is Full Professor in the Department of Experimental-Clinical and Health Psychology at Ghent University, Belgium. She completed her PhD in 2004, in which she focused on the role of psychosocial risk factors for the development of chronic low back pain (e.g. fear, catastrophising). In the last decade, she shifted her main research focus to the investigation of interpersonal dynamics of (chronic) pain and chronic illness. More recently, she became very interested in the study of psychosocial resilience mechanisms that may account for the sustainment of adaptive functioning and well-being in the presence of pain. Professor Goubert has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Belgian Pain Society (Belgian IASP Chapter) from 2006-2012; since 2010 she is a member of the scientific committee of the Belgian Pain Society.


2018 Tess Cramond Lecture:


ASM2016_tess_cramondThe Professor Tess Cramond Named Lecture is offered to an Australian researcher in the early part of their career.

The Lecture was first presented at the 2007 Australian Pain Society Scientific Meeting. Tess Cramond AO OBE commenced work as an anaesthetist in the early 1950s. In the fifty years that followed she was committed to and gained international recognition for the improvement of anaesthesia, resuscitation and pain medicine. She had a specific interest in the relief of cancer pain and supported the development of palliative care services. She established the Multidisciplinary Pain Clinic (now the Professor Tess Cramond Multidisciplinary Pain Centre) at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Queensland in 1967.

Professor Cramond held many significant positions, including Dean of the Faculty of Anaesthetists and President of the Queensland branch of the Australian Medical Association (AMAQ). She received many accolades, including the Gilbert Brown Prize, an OBE and an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), an Advance Australia Award, a Red Cross Long Service Award and the AMA Women in Medicine Award.

Sadly, Professor Cramond passed away in late 2015. A tribute to her amazing life and achievements can be found on our blog, please click here.

Associate Professor Damien Finniss

finniss_webAssociate Professor Damien Finniss will be presenting the Tess Cramond Lecture, discussing Placebo analgesia: Challenges and opportunities for clinical practice. 

Associate Professor Damien Finniss (MB BS, PhD, MSc Med, BPhty, BExSc) is a clinician and researcher at the Department of Anaesthesia & Pain Management Research Institute, Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney. He is an Associate Professor at Sydney University (Pain Medicine, Northern Clinical School) and Griffith University.

Associate Professor Finniss is the Chair of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) group on Placebo and regularly presents his work at National and International meetings.


2018 Bonica Lecture:


ASM2016_BonicaThe John Bonica Named Lecture is offered to an Australian guest speaker.

The Bonica lecture has been a feature of the Australian Pain Society scientific meeting since 1984. John Bonica himself presented the first lecture, and generally the honour is bestowed on an Australian scientist/pain clinician.

Dr Bonica’s vision was to provide an egalitarian, interdisciplinary, and international forum to improve knowledge about pain, improve the education of health-care providers, and improve the care of patients. Widely regarded as the Founding Father of Pain Medicine, his passion lead to the incorporation of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) in May 1974.

Professor Rachelle Buchbinder

buchbinder_webProfessor Rachelle Buchbinder will be presenting the Bonica Lecture, discussing Setting the research agenda for improving health care in musculoskeletal disorders.

Professor Rachelle Buchbinder is a rheumatologist and clinical epidemiologist and an Australian NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow. She is the Director of the Monash Department of Clinical Epidemiology, Cabrini Institute; Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Monash University; Joint Coordinating Editor of Cochrane Musculoskeletal; and current President of the Australian Rheumatology Association. She is a founding member and current Steering Group Chair of the recently established Australia & New Zealand Musculoskeletal (ANZMUSC) Clinical Trial Network.

We are delighted to have Professors Stephen McMahon, Liesbet Goubert and Rachelle Buchbinder as well as Associate Professor Damien Finniss presenting their respective named lectures. We hope you will be able to attend and enjoy everything the 2018 APS 38th and NZPS Conjoint ASM has to offer.

Registrations are now open!

Click here to register for the 2018 APS 38th and NZPS Conjoint ASM.APSNZPS_2018_logoA_details

About Australian Pain Society

The Australian Pain Society is a multidisciplinary body aiming to relieve pain and related suffering through leadership in clinical practice, education, research and public advocacy.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s